Remote Assistance in Windows 7 and XP with a dear friend :)

Last night, a very dear friend of mine needed help in her PC. I can’t just run off in the middle of the night to go there and fix a simple thingy so we decided to have a REMOTE ASSISTANCE session.

First what is Remote assistance, copy-pasting this line from this Microsoft site: http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/using/helpandsupport/learnmore/remoteassist/intro.mspx : Remote Assistance provides a way for you to get the help you need when you run into problems with your computer. If you’re an experienced user, you can even be the one to use Remote Assistance to directly help your friends and family members.

This was available waaaay back XP days! I was just kinda surprised that some has not heard of this yet. Plus this is really simple with a few steps and youre on your way. In remote assistance there are two actors, one is the helper (the expert.. TADAHHHH) and the one that you are helping. You may also send an invitation to help or invite a person to help.

For this scenario I will just do a screenshot cast of where to find Remote Assistance and some basics, I will request someone to help me. Just press the start button then type remote assistance.

Opening remote assistance, you will see this: For now I will invite a person to help me.

In order to initiate the connection, an invitation file will be sent to your expert, you can either save the invitation and send it as an attachment or just send it outright thru outlook or any mail client that you may have.

Saving the file as…

This is the remote assistance window, don’t close it. Wait for the expert to respond to your request.

 

The following took place last night, I received the invitation from the dear friend in need

Opened my mail and there it is.

I opened the attachment and allowed it to be open outright.

The net is acting up again last night so I had to wait a couple of seconds for this to connect:

Connected! there now I can see her desktop like in remote desktop. I’m just viewing right now. If I wanted to control her desktop, I just simply click the Request control icon on the top right corner of the Remote assistance Window. (BTW she is using a really old windows XP machine, if I mean old I really mean old, XP Still is a good downloader don’t you think?)

So there you have it, Windows Remote Assistance from Windows 7 and XP.

I’m John and in the daytime i am the Chief Technology Officer of VFTS.NET, Inc. and at Night I am Busy Saving The World. I am also a core member of the Philippine Windows Users Group, a contributor at the Microsoft Philippines Community forums and I regularly conduct TechNet sessions as well as other Microsoft technology events. I am a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional in the Management Infrastructure Discipline but away from any keyboard I spend hours reading books, likes to travel, explore, and an ever growing interest in digital photography.

Posted in Windows 7
2 comments on “Remote Assistance in Windows 7 and XP with a dear friend :)
  1. aleone says:

    Have you done this in the reverse direction (ie. a Win 7 user requesting help from XP user?) I got an error when i attempted this.
    Thanks

  2. zackhall2008 says:

    Hey blog buddy. My name is Zack and I am tech savvy, but I have just barley came into a problem being that I have win7 and my friend has win xp, but it is hard for me to explain how to do this with here is there and easier way to do remote desktop that I may not have figured out yet, if so can you please write back either on my blog zack1989.wordpress.com or via email zack.hall2008@live.com it would be greatly appreciated.
    Your blog buddy and friend,
    ~Zack~

Leave a Reply

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
Be inspired read our blog: http://blogs.msdn.com/mvpawardprogram
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 465 other followers

