Windows 7: The First Impressions

After waiting even for the last minute for the download to be available, Its finally here: The Windows 7 Beta!

Here are bits of "First impression" that I had with Windows 7, thanks to Hyper-V for making this possible that I did not had to scavenge a spare machine just to meet Windows 7. (As you may notice on my screenshots, they are from the Hyper-V Connections )

 

 

Okey, first things first. Here is my configuration for my Windows 7 Instance.

I’m allocating only 1 gig of RAM, 1 Virtual Processor and a Dynamically expanding virtual hard disk. I heard 7 is sexier (thinner –  resource needed) than Vista.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I have downloaded the ISO that is 2.96 GB in size and since I only have 64 bit machines, I will be installing the "en_windows_7_beta_checked_build_DVD_x64_x15-29064.ISO"

 

 

 

My install time was about an hour + 2 coffee break while doing other stuffs that I am supposed to be doing 😀

 

 

 

 

The install was really straight forward, its like meeting an old friend, you are already acquainted with each other and you know what to do next. Its familiar and Its intuitive. By far this is one of the easiest install I have ever done, considering all of the operating systems that I already tried, I should also say this is a painless install. So on with the screenshots!

 

  

I love what they did on the "first use" screen, its like from a movie 😀

 

If this is my desktop, its waaaaaayyy coool!

So that’s why  its so familiar, it came from a blue water light (right? the fish is a hint don’t you think?)

After couple of hours, its now running, my first ever Windows 7 Installation. By far it has reached my expectations on Minimum System requirements (both for install and runtime), ease of deployment and familiar but cooler interfaces.

Published by

johndelizo

John is currently creating digital assets that protects people and their future, a technical trainer and a full time geek specializing on development and deployment of innovations created with .NET framework on Windows platform as well as Windows infrastructure projects. He is the primary contact of the Philippine Windows Users Group, a contributor at the Microsoft Philippines Community forums and regularly conducts community sessions as well as other Microsoft technology events. John owns the Busy Saving The World Techblog.

Leave a Reply

