Windows Server 2008 R2: I survived an Upgrade!

If you can read this, this means that I have already upgraded my Windows Server 2008 Standard laptop to R2! 😀 Yes, I’m now on R2 and everything works like a charm but the Windows Live One Care, (EDIT: One Care Now works on my next Post) all file and folders are here, all hardware works without any driver from the manufacturer, office is working, and all of our Internal home-grown software and my self built software works. It was really a painless upgrade, as I have said before in my previous post, I will do a Batman stunt on this, without backup, without drivers in hand, just a DVD of R2.

Before upgrading by the way, I have read this from the R2 site, the "Before Installing Guide" and there is an upgrade path from a Full Installation of Windows Server 2008 Standard to Full installation of either Server 2008 R2 standard or its enterprise edition. Phew! At least I will be confident in my upgrade.

So here goes nothing! I have downloaded the R2 Self-Extracting Executable that has the ISO and unpacked it, burnt the ISO to a DVD disk and I’m now on my way to upgrade. I inserted the DVD and I got this Screens.

Yes, download updates. Best practice to do so, specially on newer software’s.

After a few seconds of waiting, you will be presented with a window of choices of what you want to upgrade to: I have chosen a 64 bit full installation of Windows Server 2008 standard R2.

after accepting the license terms, I choose now to upgrade. This machine has a 64 bit standard already and I only need to upgrade

On the compatibility check, I was prompted that my Storage controllers (SCSI/RAID Host Controller) will not work after upgrade. Oh my! This is a problem, hmm.. But as I have thought about it, hehe that was a VIRTUAL CD! I was using Alcohol to use ISO images to be directly  used as DVD.

So its just now a waiting game, about 20 minutes or so, I just abandoned it while I’m in a meeting 😀

The first thing I missed is my AERO desktop! I’m very sure and as you can see my previous screenshots, my themes and aero desktop was enabled. In order to enable the desktop themes for Server 2008 R2, just go to your Server Manager, expand configuration and click Services. Find the Themes Services, then right click it and enable the service. After Enabling, start the service!

So here ya go, my first ever Screen Shot of my Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard!

Published by

johndelizo

I'm John and in the daytime I am the Chief Technology Officer of VFTS.NET - a consulting firm that specializes on development and deployment of business solutions created with .NET framework on Windows platform and Windows infrastructure projects. I am a core member of the Philippine Windows Users Group, a contributor at the Microsoft Philippines Community forums and I regularly conduct technical sessions as well as other Microsoft technology events. I am a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional in the Cloud and Datacenter Management Technical Expertise but away from any keyboard I spend hours reading books, travel, explore, and being busy with my dog named Floppy.

Leave a Reply

