Install SQL Server 2005 Reporting Services on Windows Server 2008

I have tried this a couple of times and every time I do it i pull my hairs of and say how did I installed SQL 2005 Reporting Services on Windows Server 2008 again? Oh and why am I still using SQL 2005 on some machines?  I need to remember this script and never to ever search for it again.


Ok, before proceeding, check out the SQL 2005 Requirements via TechNet: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms143506(SQL.90).aspx and other SQL related troubleshooting here: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sqlserver/default.aspx

Here we go, and actually its very easy just run this scripts:

For 32 bit :

cscript %SystemDrive%\inetpub\AdminScripts\adsutil.vbs set w3svc/AppPools/Enable32bitAppOnWin64 1

For 64 bit :

cscript %SystemDrive%\inetpub\AdminScripts\adsutil.vbs set w3svc/AppPools/Enable32bitAppOnWin64 0

After the script finishes, it says True (Bool) then thats it, run your installer again and off you go.

Published by

johndelizo

I'm John and in the daytime I am the Chief Technology Officer of VFTS.NET - a consulting firm that specializes on development and deployment of business solutions created with .NET framework on Windows platform and Windows infrastructure projects. I am a core member of the Philippine Windows Users Group, a contributor at the Microsoft Philippines Community forums and I regularly conduct technical sessions as well as other Microsoft technology events. I am a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional in the Cloud and Datacenter Management Technical Expertise but away from any keyboard I spend hours reading books, travel, explore, and being busy with my dog named Floppy.

Leave a Reply

