Exporting Virtual Machines on Windows Server 2008 R2 Hyper-V

Windows 7 RC is coming up and I will be having a TechNet Session next Week. I needed to backup my ever trusted virtual machine demo on my demo laptop because I was planning to rebuild the laptop on a new install of W7 RC. Also to have a backup of it, or to yank it out of my poor laptop then just run it on a faster machine.

At first what I was planning is to Copy the Whole Folder of the VM on an external hard drive, but I hesitated.  I needed to copy the VM along with its snapshots and the configuration files.

I don’t think just copying the whole VM directory is the best approach on this. I always see the menu on the right that says Import Virtual Machine, Its intuitive enough to tell me, hey its import, there must be an export 😀

I have not found anything on TechNet on an official How-To Export and Import a Virtual Machine, so we may have to try this without it.

This is how I got to  Export and then Import the WHOLE Hyper-V VM.

 

 

Its really easy Just right click on the Selected VM on hyper-V and then click Export…

 

 

 

 

 

This action will prompt you with this dialog box, and you have to specify the location either by entering it manually or by navigating your file system using the Browse button. In this demo, I will export on my external HDD (E:\)

You will also notice the Don’t export virtual machine data check box. On Windows Server 2008, its option is Export only virtual machine configuration. Basically it means that if you click that box on Server 2008, only the configs will be exported. In R2 however its backwards, only the VM will be exported if you click the check box.

SIDE NOTE: For the sake of curiosity, I have a resource monitor up and upon clicking export the only thing that I saw that has impact on my machine’s resources is the disk activity. Neat. 😀

 

The export status is displayed on the right (Exporting 1%) wait till it finishes and that’s it, complete backup of a Virtual machine from a Hyper-V on Windows Server 2008 R2 😀

Published by

johndelizo

I'm John and in the daytime I am the Chief Technology Officer of VFTS.NET - a consulting firm that specializes on development and deployment of business solutions created with .NET framework on Windows platform and Windows infrastructure projects. I am a core member of the Philippine Windows Users Group, a contributor at the Microsoft Philippines Community forums and I regularly conduct technical sessions as well as other Microsoft technology events. I am a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional in the Cloud and Datacenter Management Technical Expertise but away from any keyboard I spend hours reading books, travel, explore, and being busy with my dog named Floppy.

3 thoughts on “Exporting Virtual Machines on Windows Server 2008 R2 Hyper-V”

  1. Could you REALLY have any *SMALLER* images? Totally useless! Even if you ‘expand’ the images in this article, they are totally UN-READABLE!

    1. Hi Jeff, Apologies for the lateness of this reply. This blog was exported from Windows Live Spaces and unfortunately wordpress did not scale the images back. Sorry for the pictures, if I had time I’ll get it up again.

  2. Have you ever considered writing an e-book or guest authoring on
    other blogs? I have a blog based upon on the same information you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my readers would appreciate your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free
    to shoot me an e-mail.

Leave a Reply

