Running Windows7? Get the latest updates for Application Compatibility!

If you are already running Windows7 (or Windows Server 2008 R2 as a workstation) like me? Do get the latest updates for your PC’s for your Applications to run without any hassles. From a KB article : “The Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 Application Compatibility Update is a software update that improves the compatibility experience in Windows 7 and in Windows Server 2008 R2. Microsoft regularly releases Windows 7 and of Windows Server 2008 R2 application compatibility updates.”

I always use Alcohol 52%, its a virtual drive emulator where I can mount my ISO’s and CUE image disks so that I do not have to burn them again on a physical disk. I had problems installing Alcohol after rebuilding my demo laptop and apparently I did not did my best practice of installation – after manufacturers drivers, get and install the latest updates! I found my update here:  Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 Application Compatibility Update

Downloaded the installer from here:

Download the x86-based versions of Windows 7 update package now. (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=87bc03c6-4e24-4706-ae99-5c57ce50a970)

Download the x64-based versions of Windows 7 update package now. (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=0f9e69a3-c29d-4538-af0e-c081635c65c5)

Download the x64-based versions of Windows Server 2008 R2 update package now. (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=29de679b-3aa5-41ae-a425-35579fffbe20)

Download the Itanium-based versions of Windows Server 2008 R2 update package now. (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=cf65da8d-04cb-41e0-80e5-a7f24cf4548a)

After downloading your updates manually, just run it and wait for it to finish

 

here is my screenshot running Alcohol free edition on a Windows Server 2008 R2 Enterprise.

Moral of the lesson 😀 – Always update your Windows 7 :D. CHEERS!

Published by

johndelizo

I'm John and in the daytime I am the Chief Technology Officer of VFTS.NET - a consulting firm that specializes on development and deployment of business solutions created with .NET framework on Windows platform and Windows infrastructure projects. I am a core member of the Philippine Windows Users Group, a contributor at the Microsoft Philippines Community forums and I regularly conduct technical sessions as well as other Microsoft technology events. I am a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional in the Cloud and Datacenter Management Technical Expertise but away from any keyboard I spend hours reading books, travel, explore, and being busy with my dog named Floppy.

Leave a Reply

