Office2010 : Speak! (Text to Speech)

I remembered before about this contest on Office 2010: http://windows7kami.com/2010/04/07/office-2010-demo-video-contest/ and I was going to post an entry (being the geek + office ninja me) and I guess this can help anybody for their productivity, so let me just share it! Its the Text to Speech functionality of Office 2010, before what I use way back in 2007 is just Excel’s Speak Cell. But that’s kinda wierd when somebody walks besides your cube and see an excel worksheet open being scrolled automatically. In 2003, you cant use your computer while excel is reading, if you do click something, the excel stops reading. But in 2010, whoa, even Word has it (well, i don’t know if it’s already in there, but I can’t seem to find it).

In 2010, you can find it thru File then Options.

Then on Word Options window, Click Quick Access Toolbar and Choose commands from: All Commands.

Scroll down and find SPEAK. What I do is hold down “S” then let it scroll. Choose Speak then Click the “Add >>” Button. Click OK.

So on your Word document, just highlight the text that you want the PC to read and then press Speak at your Quick Command at the top left corner of the toolbars.

Go ahead give it a try 🙂

Published by

johndelizo

I'm John and in the daytime I am the Chief Technology Officer of VFTS.NET - a consulting firm that specializes on development and deployment of business solutions created with .NET framework on Windows platform and Windows infrastructure projects. I am a core member of the Philippine Windows Users Group, a contributor at the Microsoft Philippines Community forums and I regularly conduct technical sessions as well as other Microsoft technology events. I am a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional in the Cloud and Datacenter Management Technical Expertise but away from any keyboard I spend hours reading books, travel, explore, and being busy with my dog named Floppy.

Leave a Reply

