Free E-Book: Understanding Microsoft Virtualization Solutions

Either its a coincidence or just luck, right this very moment I am working with HYPER-V (or hyper-v working a VM export-import thing, oh yea, lemme blog about that next time!) and was reading some guides on it. I searched for a topic over the internet and this came up! Its a free Ebook that can be downloaded here: http://download.microsoft.com/download/5/B/4/5B46A838-67BB-4F7C-92CB-EABCA285DFDD/693821ebook.pdf

Inside the book are some what I can call, GEMS like this one:

But what I am really after is the Import and Export of Virtual Machines in Hyper-V, found at Page 79.

“You can use the Hyper-V Manager console to export a virtual machine from one Hyper-V
server so that you can import it onto a different Hyper-V server. This import/export functionality
allows you to migrate a virtual machine from one host computer to another using a
process called Quick Migration.”

I had to read this really AFTER doing server migrations. I already had the guides from TechNet but this book re-validates everything that I did and yup its the same thing – and that’s GOOD!

That’s all for now, I’m just waiting for the filecopy to finish, I’m importing the last VM’s now 😛

Published by

johndelizo

I'm John and in the daytime I am the Chief Technology Officer of VFTS.NET - a consulting firm that specializes on development and deployment of business solutions created with .NET framework on Windows platform and Windows infrastructure projects. I am a core member of the Philippine Windows Users Group, a contributor at the Microsoft Philippines Community forums and I regularly conduct technical sessions as well as other Microsoft technology events. I am a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional in the Cloud and Datacenter Management Technical Expertise but away from any keyboard I spend hours reading books, travel, explore, and being busy with my dog named Floppy.

Leave a Reply

