Windows 7 and Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1

As you may already knew, the Service Pack 1 was already released for Windows Server 2008 R2 and Windows 7 clients as well.

I had a few discussions with the other IT people and asking me, why am I installing the SP1. Generally speaking, why I want to install from a disk that has the service pack in it already is because I wanted to keep my PC as updated as possible and instead of me doing an upgrade to a machine that I will update anyways, I’ll just start from an image that has the service pack – minus the head ache of updating one’s machine.

 

On the server side, I had a chance before to demo one of its feature the “Dynamic Memory” over a TechNet session here in Makati and if you are looking into Virtualization, you may want that feature – and its free with the update, why not yea?

More info at this TechNet link: http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff817622(WS.10).aspx and here http://www.microsoft.com/oem/en/downloads/pages/windows_7_sp1.aspx

Published by

johndelizo

I'm John and in the daytime I am the Chief Technology Officer of VFTS.NET - a consulting firm that specializes on development and deployment of business solutions created with .NET framework on Windows platform and Windows infrastructure projects. I am a core member of the Philippine Windows Users Group, a contributor at the Microsoft Philippines Community forums and I regularly conduct technical sessions as well as other Microsoft technology events. I am a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional in the Cloud and Datacenter Management Technical Expertise but away from any keyboard I spend hours reading books, travel, explore, and being busy with my dog named Floppy.

Leave a Reply

