AMD EyeFinity Multi-Monitor Setup For Windows 8

My Semi-Official Statement: I needed more landscape in my desktop, two monitors is not enough for my use anymore. To demo also, instead of brining three PC’s, I needed to consolidate my labs into one machine. Plus having more monitors gives me the ability to review documents side by side in full screen not to mention the other window for monitoring activities. I will use more monitors to have a more visual view of my projects and all. I would mumble on and on and on and on on why I NEED more monitors but for my personal use, a kickass rig for all my games, not to mention a really nice Windows 8 interface for Demos 🙂

So having the “Problem” statement here’s how I did it:

I have here an AMD Phenom II X4 955 Procecssor with 3.12 GHZ and 8GB of RAM, so of course I needed to use a x64 Version of Windows 8. 

image

image

The reason having to have this rig is more power, I needed that for something cooler later.

I searched over the internet on how to have 3 or more monitors and it seems that Windows without any high-end Graphic card natively supports up to 2 monitors only. I tested it and it seems that is the case.

What I got is a Sapphire HD 7950 that has the AMD Eyefinity 2.0 technology.

image

I said earlier that I needed a third monitor, so I got another attachment called a AMD Active Mini Display Port (note not Passive but Active). See this list for details http://support.amd.com/us/eyefinity/Pages/eyefinity-dongles.aspx 

image

Oh and I am a fan of Samsung, I use Samsung monitors and TV’s all over the house and for my set-up I am using SyncMaster 940 BW’s. These are very old models, but I had two of them for years (tough monitors) and I just found another one over our local ebay-like forums. Now lets install them.

NOTE: MAKE SURE YOU INSTALL THE PROPER DRIVERS AND SOFTWARES.

So what are the possibilities with three monitors with AMD. I basically use two things here. The native Windows Control Panel – Screen Resolution (Control Panel\Appearance and Personalization\Display\Screen Resolution) or the AMD Vision Engine Control Center

imageimage

When you use the native screen resolution, it gives you the usual extended desktop and as you can see the third monitor is now detected and being used. However if you use the Control Center, imageit gives you the ability to combine your three desktops into one. This is Eyefinity. Because Eyefinity combines your desktop, the snap and maximize behavior would be the default of Windows, because three monitors are treated as one. To have that behavior back, we turn into another tool in AMD called the Hydra Grid. If you install the proper drivers and softwares from the graphic card manufacturer, HydraGrid is installed as well. This lets you edit a grid in your desktops where your apps and windows can snap to.

Okay, now time to use this awesome machine! Time to launch WarHammer: Dawn Of War II! be productive!

If you are interested there are some sample clips on YouTube.

Published by

johndelizo

I'm John and in the daytime I am the Chief Technology Officer of VFTS.NET - a consulting firm that specializes on development and deployment of business solutions created with .NET framework on Windows platform and Windows infrastructure projects. I am a core member of the Philippine Windows Users Group, a contributor at the Microsoft Philippines Community forums and I regularly conduct technical sessions as well as other Microsoft technology events. I am a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional in the Cloud and Datacenter Management Technical Expertise but away from any keyboard I spend hours reading books, travel, explore, and being busy with my dog named Floppy.

3 thoughts on “AMD EyeFinity Multi-Monitor Setup For Windows 8”

  1. Hi, ive been having problems with my triple monitors at the moment im using one hdmi, 1 dvi displayport and a dvi-d. Basically my problem is that when i try to connect the third monitor it won’t let me it will make me have to disable one monitor to use the other, so i then tried the catalyst control panel but i still could not get it to work. Im using windows 8 with a AMD Radeon 7870 GHZ Edition card please reply as soon as possible if you know the problem. Best Regards,

    Daniel Ware

    1. Graphics cards only have 2 digital signal outputs. The third signal to a monitor requires an ‘active’ cable to compensate for this. OR you can use an analogue cable such as a VGA sub. You can use any converter from any port such as Mini-Displayport to VGA converter and this will still send in analogue. This solution will usually cut the cost in half. Some say they can detect the lower quality in an analogue signal, most say you can’t even tell there’s a difference.

      The same applies even if you have two graphics cards linked in crossfire because in this mode the second cards outputs and ram are redundant.

      So, get an active cable for a third digital display OR, get a converter from your digital output to a VGA cable.

Leave a Reply

