Sign In from Office Applications with your Office 365 Accounts!

This is one of the features that are not so well known by some of the people that I interact with and they are saying its not the same. A little background, I am really used to having AD + SharePoint + Exchange + Lync. I used to just edit a document in SharePoint or connect my Office say Excel to that document list and I have versioning and sharing of the document.

Come Office 365’s SharePoint online, we created a team sites for internal use. We decided not to use ADFS to sync office 365 identities and we have an existing AD in the local network. For some reason also we did not expose our AD to some personal machines and to VPN like the one that I am using here at home – this signs in to my Microsoft (Live) account.

image

Today I am reviewing reports and commenting on some worksheets. I Opened my Team Site and opened the list that I need to edit. Opened one Excel.

You know Excel Web App is not the same for me. An example, I cant find the Count at the bottom right of the worksheet when you highlight Cells.

image

Or some shortcuts like F5 (This refreshes the page, duh).

So what am I going to do? Open this on Excel of course, you go to Edit Workbook: Edit in Excel – like this:

image

This Pop-up and all of the errors will be there if you havent put your sharepoint URL on the trusted sites of IE.

image

Click yes and a couple more of Errors will come up – also there would be some excel errors.

image

So! What am I doing wrong? Again, I am used to that seamless integration of Office and SharePoint. Well maybe its because my Machine and SharePoint uses AD. Its because the identities are shared to all applications and services that we created a single sign-on environment. Oh well, I will just download the excel file, edit it and upload it again as Version 2. Not the ideal case, but hey I am working at home.

There is got to be a better way.

Go to your excel and click your account. See that Switch account link? Click it.

image

Type in your Office 365 Email Address, then click Next. It will look for the account and then type your password when asked. Click Sign-In.

image

After you sign in you will see your account, click it and change your account settings. I do this so that you know what account account I am using in Office at this moment. I got also live accounts that use SkyDrive so I don’t want to be confused.
image

You will see your account settings here, will also see the connected services. Mine has SharePoint.

image

Note that Office Caches your account, may want to protect your PC more now 🙂 Go out of that page by clicking the back arrow.

We can go back to the SharePoint site. Open the same Excel file. Then edit with Excel again. This has worked for me but I want to show you how to open it using the Open Menu of Excel.

image

Then open the Excel file. As you may notice, this is the same SharePoint document list that we are using.

image

You should be able to open the excel file now.

PS. Don’t forget to switch account!

image

PS.PS. You can add service the default live account, for some it may be confusing and insecure. I want to explicitly change accounts when needed over convenience of consolidating your accounts.

But if you really want to, change back to the main account and go to the account settings.

image

Select Office 365 SharePoint. That will ask again for your username and password of the Office 365 account then will return. When you go back to the Excel Workbook, You will see the two storage accounts linked with the other services.

image

There you have it! Back to work and happy Office 365 integration!

Published by

johndelizo

I'm John and in the daytime I am the Chief Technology Officer of VFTS.NET - a consulting firm that specializes on development and deployment of business solutions created with .NET framework on Windows platform and Windows infrastructure projects. I am a core member of the Philippine Windows Users Group, a contributor at the Microsoft Philippines Community forums and I regularly conduct technical sessions as well as other Microsoft technology events. I am a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional in the Cloud and Datacenter Management Technical Expertise but away from any keyboard I spend hours reading books, travel, explore, and being busy with my dog named Floppy.

2 thoughts on “Sign In from Office Applications with your Office 365 Accounts!”

  1. Excellent post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I’m impressed!
    Extremely helpful info particularly the closing section 🙂 I take care of such info much.

    I used to be looking for this particular information for a very long time.
    Thank you and good luck.

  2. Neat trick! Thanks for sharing! This is like an essential article everyone should be reading. So I tweeted it out to my group. Thanks again!

    John.

Leave a Reply

