Me using Visual Studio 2013 and TFS on VisualStudio.com

Some background: This I can share, it’s a personal project that I am doing. Its without the strict NDA stuffs like “if-you-share-this-I-own-your-soul” kinda agreement. So I’m really exited to share this experience. Although, I’m still blacking out some areas in screenshots – my app hasn’t been published yet :). Yea, I do some Windows Phone apps on my own and hopefully I can finish this one before these long breaks end or whenever..

This is not the install VS2013 thingy, I’ve already installed VS2013 here and I had issues last week but I left it working (also finishing some workitems) – so, lets use this today! I normally work in my laptop these past few days, sometimes I do some edits on my new apps in between stressful meetings or whenever I felt like doing. Today, I’m home for a longer period of time and I have a chance to use my Eyefinity enabled rig.

Using this PC, will enable me to be more ‘productive’, minus the steam sale. But its just nice to have an option to transfer from laptop to desktop or to other PC that I have. But the thing is, how would I transfer the Solution Files? My options:

A. USB Stick copy-paste.

B. Network Share / Homegroup

C. Skydrive this 500KB thing!

D. Use TFS.

 

Lets go with TFS Shall we?

On the new Visual Studio, you can now sign-in with your Microsoft Account, I have a few accounts and a personal account, you can do the switch account thing seamlessly if you want to. Mine is already logged in, since last installation.

w0

Click connect to Team Foundation Server and select your Server and Team Project.

We can switch user here, but ill leave it to this user as this user has access to my account.

image

Once you are in your Team Explorer home, you are prompted that hey you havent setup any workspace for this! Wana configure? 🙂 Click Configure your workspace link.

w1

If I remember correctly, In other versions of Visual Studio you will be prompted with the Manage Workspace window and you have to add the edit mappings. Now this is is only in the ‘Advanced…’ link, all VS2013 will ask you is what project do you want to download where. I think by default its on your user profile.

w2

Since I do not put project on my C:\ Drive, I will put the project on my S:\ (Storage) internal HDD. Imagine if you have SSD and you put your projects there! Id rather use it for something else and keep it clean.

At this moment, we click Map & Get. Finally a one step Map and then Get latest version!

w3

Lets wait for it to finish. Speed depends and varies in location etc etc as always. Mine finished in less than a minute.

w4

Once you have mapped your Workspace for this project, there would be a list of solutions here at the home tab of the Team Explorer. Just doubleclick the solution to open it.

w5

So heres the loading project screen, as you can see I have some projects setup here on this account.

w6

So there you have it, the solution is now opened and it’s the latest version.

w7

So Time to open VS, setup workspace and open solution done in like under 5 mins. Much faster than me writing this quick blog post. Also very convenient when transferring solutions and sharing these files to other computers, for a developer on the go – like me or even when you need to rebuild again. Oh yea, I got to do some layouts in my projects today so bye for now and happy coding!

Published by

johndelizo

John is currently creating digital assets that protects people and their future, a technical trainer and a full time geek specializing on development and deployment of innovations created with .NET framework on Windows platform as well as Windows infrastructure projects. He is the primary contact of the Philippine Windows Users Group, a contributor at the Microsoft Philippines Community forums and regularly conducts community sessions as well as other Microsoft technology events. John owns the Busy Saving The World Techblog.

Leave a Reply

