Two geeks got married, left all infrastructure while on vacation where no internet has gone before

So, yes. In Philippines there is a place called Sagada somewhere in the Mountain Province. In order to go there, you have to take Manila to Banaue, an 8 hour bus ride from Manila and then 3 hours Van ride to Sagada.

20150221_010405000

Typically, when we go on vacation, there are a lot of things to worry about. But we just got married and I am not supposed to work at all. And for one, I will be gone for a whole week without any contact. This is the mountain province, we have 512kbps or at best 3G in the middle of the town but that’s about it. In the hotel there is NO internet only food, lots of food.

20150221_235630000_iOS

Before, I was not able to do this. I distinctly remember, I filled a leave but being called back to office late at night because our QMAIL is not accepting any messages. Back then I handled 5 (Law & Financial Audit) companies all in one box, imagine the frustration of users to the IT. Why one box with no availability? Budget. Period.

You may also notice, I was not able to post tech articles in my blog. Lets get one thing straight, I am not managing all of my client’s and my company’s infrastructure. I haven’t encountered head scratching problem for the longest time, that’s why. Maybe a little, I will blog about the Win2012R2’s domain rename that’s synchronizing with Azure after I fixed it. Yea, there are still some core infra that is still left in the datacenter that needs my attention, but do not be overwhelmed by managing everything your self. There are a lot of systems that can be automated, including Exchange and SharePoint.

So everything is either on Premise, in Microsoft Azure or in Office 365. My next item on my list is the Azure Active Directory Connect that replaces FIM and AD Premium so excited to implement these. And now I do not worry about my mail system that gives me time to implement those and of course, go out of town with longer vacations with the better half.  ❤

But hey, I am back! Its gonna be busy for a while so stay tuned!

Published by

johndelizo

John is currently creating digital assets that protects people and their future, a technical trainer and a full time geek specializing on development and deployment of innovations created with .NET framework on Windows platform as well as Windows infrastructure projects. He is the primary contact of the Philippine Windows Users Group, a contributor at the Microsoft Philippines Community forums and regularly conducts community sessions as well as other Microsoft technology events. John owns the Busy Saving The World Techblog.

Leave a Reply

